Skip to main content


AWS Regions By Year Introduced with Availability Zone, Local Zone and Wavelength Zone Information

List of AWS Region by Year and other Zone Information Year Region Introduced Region Code (Name) ( 25 ) Availability Zone ( 81 ) Local Zone Code ( 17 ) Wavelength Zone ID ( 17 ) 2006 US-East-1 (North Virginia) us-east-1a us-east-1b us-east-1c us-east-1d us-east-1e us-east-1f us-east-1-bos-1a (Boston) us-east-1-iah-1a (Houston) us-east-1-mia-1a (Miami) us-east-1-chi-1a (Chicago) us-east-1-dfw-1a (Dallas) us-east-1-mci-1a (Kansas City) us-east-1-msp-1a (Minneapolis) us-east-1-nyc-1a (New York City) us-east-1-phl-1a (Philadelphia) us-east-1-atl-1a ( Planned ) us-east-1-wl1-atl-wlz-1 (Atlanta) us-east-1-wl1-bos-wlz-1 (Boston) us-east-1-wl1-dfw-wlz-1 (Dallas) us-east-1-wl1-mia-wlz-1 (Miami) us-east-1-wl1-
Recent posts

(Updated) Additional descriptions of AWS Regions

Descriptions/definitions of AWS Regions An AWS Region is a geographic location around the world where a complement of AWS Services are made available across multiple Availability Zones (AZ). Each AWS Region consists of multiple, isolated, and physically separate AZ's within a geographic area. Each AZ within the Region consists of one or more physical data centers. A  Region spans a large geographic area, e.g. a metropolitan area. It is an area where AWS has a presence, and deploys its services in a highly-available manner, using multiple Availability Zones Each AWS Region exists wholly within a single country domain As of 2021, every standard AWS Region has three or more Availability Zones (AZ). However the formal description is that an AWS Region consists multiple AZs , i.e. two or more AZs. Note: AWS may limit the number of AZs visible to new AWS account in some Regions, i.e. New customers may only be able to access some of the

AWS Top Secret Region

AWS Top Secret Region The AWS Top Secret Region launched in 2014 as the first air-gapped commercial cloud for the U.S. Intelligence Community "The Top Secret region is intended for the exclusive use of 18 government agencies comprising the USA intelligence community ." "The CIA and AWS have partnered to create additional security overlays in addition to the air gap and three geographically dispersed zones of availability." "The Top Secret Region is hosted on-premise at the CIA, and is air-gapped , completely separated from the public Internet for extra security." The top secret government data centers, e.g. US-ISOB-East-1 Are part of the AWS Partition: AWS-iso-b References: AWS GovCloud Services: Sensitive and Classified Data on the Public Cloud CIA's Cloud is 'Pretty Close' to Invincible, CIO Says

AWS Secret Region

AWS Secret Region The AWS Secret Region operates workloads up to the Secret U.S. security classification level. "The AWS Secret Region is used for sensitive, classified workloads by non-intelligence government organizations , and can be used by intelligence organizations to share data that is not top secret with other agencies." The Secret Region is available to all government agencies, not just intelligence agencies The AWS Secret Region addresses the full range of U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) data classifications, including Unclassified, Sensitive (CUI), Secret, and Top Secret. The Secret and Top Secret Regions, each consists of three Availability Zones . The secret government data centers, e.g. US-ISO-East-1 The AWS Secret Region is part of the AWS-iso partition References: AWS for DoD (see slide 18) Announcing the New AWS Secret Region AWS GovCloud Services: Sensitive and Classified Data on the Public Cloud

AWS GovCloud US

AWS GovCloud US AWS GovCloud is a secured AWS region built for United States government agencies and companies that work with and support them. AWS GovCloud is for US-based public sector customers, government agencies and its contractors AWS GovCloud operates alongside the Top Secret and Secret Regions that support the intelligence community and other agencies who store classified information. "Access to the GovCloud region is restricted to a vetted set of USA-based individuals. Its servers are situated on United States soil, and it is managed and run only by United States citizens." There are two Regions in US Government Cloud: GovCloud West us-gov-west-1 GovCloud East, us-gov-east-1 Is part of the AWS Partition name: AWS-us-gov References: AWS GovCloud Services: Sensitive and Classified Data on the Public Cloud Overview of AWS GovCloud (US)

AWS China Region

AWS China Region There are two Regions in China: AWS China (Beijing) Region based out of Beijing and adjacent area managed by service provider Beijing Sinnet Technology Co., Ltd. (Sinnet). Region code: cn-north-1 . AWS China (Ningxia) Region based out of Ningxia managed by service provider Ningxia Western Cloud Data Technology Co., Ltd. (NWCD) Region code: cn-northwest-1 . The China Regions are part of the AWS-cn partitions Note: AWS provides a robust complement of Services in the China Regions, however there are some notable differences from the rest of the AWS commercial Regions, including: No direct connection to the AWS backbone Management: "AWS has collaborated with local partners in China, who have proper telecom licenses for delivering cloud services within the AWS China (Beijing) Region and the AWS China (Ningxi

AWS Commercial Regions

AWS Commercial Regions Also known as the Standard Regions , e.g. N. Virginia (us-east-1) There are currently 25 AWS Regions (listed in order of introduction, from 2006 to 2021): US-East-1 (North Virginia) EU-West-1 (Ireland) US-West-1(Northern California) AP-Southeast-1 (Singapore) AP-Northeast-1 (Tokyo) US-West-2 (Oregon) SA-East-1 (Sao Paulo) US-Gov-West-1 (GovCloud West) AP-Southeast-2 (Sydney) CN-North-1 (Beijing) EU-Central-1 (Frankfurt) AP-Northeast-2 (Seoul) AP-South-1 (Mumbai) US-East-2 (Ohio) CA-Central-1 (Canada) EU-West-2 (London) EU-West-3 (Paris) CN-Northwest-1 (Ningxia) EU-North-1 (Stockholm) US-Gov-East-1 (GovCloud East) ME-South-1 (Bahrain) AP-East-1 (Hong Kong) AF-South-1 (Cape Town) EU-South-1 (Milan) AP-Northeast-3 (Osaka) Specific types of AWS Regions are grouped into AWS Partitions . For standard or commercial AWS Regions, t